Home

“Echoes and silence, patience and grace, all of these moments I’ll never replace. No fear of my heart or absence of faith. All I want is to be home.”

It feels like it’s been forever since I graduated high school when in reality, it’s only been 4 years. But since my days at Palmdale High School, it feels like I’ve struggled to find my place in the outside world. No matter how hard I try, it’s felt like whenever I take 2 steps forward, I get knocked 3 steps back and especially in the last year, it started to take its toll on me. I just want to be in a place where I’m comfortable and happy. I want the place that I call “home” to be a place that I can prosper. Is that so much to ask?

This is my home.

Whether I like it or not, right now what you see about is my home. It’s in the place where I least wanna be in the world. The place where life stops at 20. Where opportunity is stagnant and progress is frowned upon. The place where section 8 is considered  “living the dream”.  And I truly hate to sound callous, but I’m better than this. Most of the people I know are better than this and yet this is what we’re stuck with.

I’m a true believer in the idea that hard work gets you far, pretty much wherever you need and want to be. This belief has led to the epiphany that I haven’t worked hard enough. It’s 2011. Time to do work.

Day 3 down and counting…

About ThatTurnerKid

- Christian (Tyrone) Turner - May 17th, 1988 - Palmdale, CA - Writer - Singer - Filmmaker - Aspiring Photographer - Slacker - Dreamer View all posts by ThatTurnerKid

Leave a Reply

